Tyler Siri & Bobby Varin Capture Modified Wins Friday Night At Outlaw Speedway

Story By: PAUL SZMAL / OUTLAW SPEEDWAY – DUNDEE, NY – United Way night at Outlaw Speedway was filled with plenty of fast action and excitement, as two makeup feature events were a part of the six division show.

Tyler Siri started third in the makeup feature event for the Friendly Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Outlaw Modifieds and passed pole sitter Greg Birosh for the lead on the opening lap. Phil Vigneri moved into second on lap 5 and chased after Siri until a lap 7 yellow for Bobby Varin’s car stopping. Once green flag racing resumed, Siri sped away from Vigneri until a yellow on lap 23 when Brady Fultz had a flat while running in the top five. At the same time, Kyle Coffey broke the left rear. Danny Johnson also had a tire issue, which shuffled Eldon Payne and Steve Paine up behind Jim LaRock for the final restart. Siri held on for a commanding win, with Vigneri, LaRock, Fultz, and Paine as the rest of the top five.

In the regular Friendly Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Outlaw Modified main, Ron Cartwright was the early leader, but had to contend with Bobby Varin, who stormed into the second spot after an intense battle with Eldon Payne. For several laps, Cartwright and Varin battled for the top spot, with Varin finally able to sneak under Cartwright on lap 20. As Varin gapped out, Eldon Payne had his hands full with Danny Johnson in a fight for third. On lap 27, Cartwright’s car slowed going into turn one and first feature winner Tyler Siri piled in but didn’t lose a spot. The yellow flew to clear the Cartwright car, which set up a three lap shootout. Varin went on to take the win as Payne hit the wall in turn two on the final lap, losing a few spots. That put Danny Johnson in second across the line, with Cory Costa and Siri behind him. Payne recovered to hold on to fifth at the checkers.

In the 25-lap Sunrise Insulation American Racer Sportsman feature, Justice Mayo took the lead and held off Karl Comfort until lap 7, when Comfort slipped past to take the point. Coming from 11th starting spot, Chris Fisher was very fast on the bottom as he moved past Dale Welty and Tommy Paine to close in on Comfort in a battle for the lead. Comfot made one slip and that was enough for Fisher to slip through and taek the lead at the halfway point. As Fisher opened up a gap on Comfort, Welty battled hard with Paine and Zac McDonald. As Fisher and Comfort crossed under the checkers, McDonald and Paine were able to move past Welty into third and fourth, with Welty right behind in fifth.

The Speed Connection Hoosier Tire Sportsman had a held over feature event that saw Tim Guild lead till Andrew Jacobson passed him on lap 8. The point championship contenders both had rough races, as AJ Potrzebowski dropped out on lap 11 and Alex Payne dropped out six laps later. Both were able to pick up rides in other cars for the remainder of the program. AJ Lloyd was on a charge and make his way up to second, but Jacobson was too far out in front and he took the win over Lloyd with Guild and McDonald. Adam Hilton made a late charge to wind up in fifth.

The nightcarp Speed Connection Hoosier Tire Sportsman contest saw Alex Payne, in a borrowed ride, lead until lap 4, when a multi car crash heavily damaged the cars of Zach McDonald and Brett Buono. On the restart, Adam Hilton made his way past Timmy Borden to taek second, and he continued forward as he took the lead from Payne on lap 10. Hilton opened up a full straightaway advantage at the finish to take the win over Payne and Borden, followed by Randy Chrysler and AJ Lloyd, who came back from being involved in the McDonald/Buono crash to take fifth.

The Stan’s No Tubes Street Stock feature began with several lead changes, as Zach Teed, Jeremy Potrzebowski, and Chuck Winslow all had turns at the front while Glenn Whritenour battled his way up into contention. On lap 10, a multi car incident knocked out Potrzebowski and Justin Neff after Dennis Cummings spun, and Whritenour took the lead on the restart. It looked like Shane Wolfe might pose a challenge, but he wound up pulling to the pits on lap 14. Whirtenour took another win while John Carpenter snuck under Winslow off the final corner to snag second. Jared Hill and Teed completed the top five.

It looked as though Kenneth Evans was on his way to another feature win in the Winner’s Circle Deli 4 Cylinder feature after taking the lead on lap 3, but just a couple of laps from the finish, his right front tire went flat, which handed the lead to Brian Grant. Grant held off Scott Lehman to take the top spot, followed by Jayson Smart, Brian Avery, and Mike Webster.

The NAPA Hobby Stock main event started with Brian Lloyd leading, but a yellow flew on lap 5 when Willy Easling and Marc Minutolo got together, ending Easling’s race. Minutolo charged back through the pack and was in second when Lloyd’s car had a transmission failure on lap 13. Minutolo inherited the lead and cruised to another win, followed by Glen Vancise, Shawn Lloyd, Bruce Kinner, and Jason Clugstone.

Racing continues at Outlaw Speedway with the regular divisions in action on Friday, September 3rd, with an additional night added to the schedule. Championship Night will now be Friday, September 10th with the Lane’s Yamaha 360 Sprint Cars joining the program on the final points night of the 2021 season. For more information, visit www.outlawspeedwayllc.com .


FRIENDLY CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM HELD-OVER MODIFIED FEATURE-TYLER SIRI, Phil Vigneri III, Jim LaRock, Eldon Payne, Steve Paine, Jeff Daugherty, Danny Johnson, Brady Fultz, Billy Paine, Greg Birosh, Kyle Coffey, Cory Costa, Ron Cartwright, Jake Dgien, Ed Lawrence, Bobby Varin, Ray Bliss Jr.

FRIENDLY CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM MODIFIED FEATURE-BOBBY VARIN, Danny Johnson, Cory Costa, Tyler Siri, Eldon Payne, Phil Vigneri III, Jim LaRock, Steve Paine, Derrick Podsiadlo, Brady Fultz, Adam Hilton, Greg Birosh, Jeff Daugherty, Eric Williams, Billy Paine, Kyle Coffey, Ron Cartwright, Ed Lawrence, Ray Bliss, Brian Swarthout, Eric Grice, Jake Dgien (DNS).

HELD OVER SPEED CONNECTION HOOSIER SPORTSMAN FEATURE-ANDREW JACOBSON, AJ Lloyd, Tim Guild, Zac McDonald, Adam Hilton, Blake Parsons, Brent Ayers, Justice Mayo, Cayden Lawson, Jake Crastley, Bryan Rhodes, Timmy Borden Jr, Alex Payne, Ajay Potrzebowski Jr, Brandon Bulter, Steve Gray, Nichole Hoag (DNS).

SPEED CONNECTION HOOSIER SPORTSMAN FEATURE-ADAM HILTON, Alex Payne, Timmy Borden Jr, Randy Chrysler, AJ Lloyd, Ajay Potrzebowski Jr, Andrew Jacobson, Brent Ayers, Blake Parsons, Jimmy Grant, Bryan Rhodes, Jake Crastley, Tim Guild, Zac McDonald, Steve Gray, Brett Buono, Brandon Butler, Cayden Lawson.

SUNRISE INSULATION AMERICAN RACER SPORTSMAN FEATURE-CHRIS FISHER, Karl Comfort, Zac McDonald, Tommy Paine, Dale Welty, Brian Fish, Connor Brown, Gregg Crooker, Justice Mayo, Evan Nugent, Ben Feldman, Isabel Barron, Alex Payne, Allison Teed, Carter Crooker, Brandon Butler, Reese Hackett, Loren Lincoln, Kreg Crooker, Stacy Jackson, Randy Chrysler (DNS).

STAN’S NO TUBES STREET STOCK FEATURE-GLENN WHRITENOUR, John Carpenter, Chuck Winslow, Jared Hill, Zach Teed, Aaron Miller, Dennis Cummings, Tim Grady, Tony Cameron, Gene Sharpsteen, Sherman Gage, Shane Wolfe, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Justin Neff, John Burritt, Shawn Boynton, CJ Guererri, Jeremy Trank.

WINNER’S CIRCLE DELI 4 CYLINDER FEATURE-BRIAN GRANT, Scott Lehman, Jayson Smart, Brian Avery, Mike Webster, Cody Morehouse, Kenneth Evans, David Kinner, Steve Perkins Sr, Michael Golotty, Dan Webster, Rick Margeson, Kenny Fenton, Matt Irwin, Kenny Hunt, Craig DeCamp (DNS), Hannah Guererri (DNS).

ADDISON/CORNING/HORNELL/WELLSVILLE NAPA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE-MARC MINUTOLO, Glen Vancise, Shawn Lloyd, Bruce Kinner, Jason CLugstone, Bob Buono, Brian Lloyd, Don Slover, Willy Easling, John Almekinder.