Celebrate Fourth Of July At Weedsport With Sprint Cars, Big Blocks & Fireworks

Story By: DAN KAPUSCINSKI / WEEDSPORT SPEEDWAY – WEEDSPORT, NY – This Fourth of July can be spent in the fast lane at Weedsport Speedway as the Empire Super Sprints, DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds and the NY6A 600cc Micro Sprints take center stage at The Port on Sunday, July 4.

A full evening of entertainment will be on the docket to celebrate Independence Day as Chasing Neon will rock the midway beginning at 5 p.m., along with a spectacular fireworks display once the sun goes down.

The action on the track will be highlighted by the Empire Super Sprints CNY Speedweek finale, marking the first trip of the season for the winged sprint cars to Weedsport.

The full cast of ESS super stars will be on hand for the July 4 special including championship point leaders Jason Barney, Davie Franek, Paulie Colagiovanni, Dylan Swiernik and Danny Varin. Add in the likes of Jeff Cook, Sammy Reakes IV, Joe Trenca, Denny Peebles, Shawn Donath and more and the night will be filled with fireworks on track and in the sky.

The DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds will also take on Weedsport this Independence Day for their third event of the season at Weedsport as part of the Stirling Lubricants and Champion Racing Oil Modified Series.

Mat Williamson has dominated Weedsport so far this year in Modified competition winning both events held in 2021, including the Super DIRTcar Series Heroes Remembered 100.

Williamson leads Jimmy Phelps, Matt Sheppard, Justin Haers and Danny Johnson in Weedsport’s championship standings heading into July 4.

DIRTcar 358-Modifieds are welcome to join the lineup with the Big Blocks on July 4, following the ruleset posted below.

The NY6A 600cc Micro Sprints will also join the lineup, making for a three division card. Weedsport Kartway graduate, Logan Crisafulli, won the last 600cc event at Weedsport on June 13 and will look to go back-to-back on July 4.

Tickets are already on sale for July 4 with reserved seating set at $30 and general admission seating available to those 18 and older for $25. Youth general admission will be set at $10 with kids 10 and under free.

Pit admission is $30 for DIRTcar members and $35 for non-members.

Weedsport Kartway’s Thursday Night Thunder Opens on June 24

Weedsport Kartway’s Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Thursday Night Thunder Series opens this Thursday, June 24.

The three race series will feature Weedsport’s point divisions including Jr. Red Clone, Jr. Green Clone, Jr. Purple Clone, Jr. Blue Clone, Jr. Unrestricted, Clone Light, Clone Heavy and Clone Super Heavy. The series will award its own points with Thursday Night Thunder champions declared following the final two events of the Thursday schedule on July 15 and August 19.

The Weedsport concession stand will be open on Thursday from 4:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., featuring The Port Burger.

A LIVE taping of Off Track TV will also take place during racing action on Thursday evening.

Pit gates will open on Thursday at 4:30 p.m., with one round of controlled practice to begin at 6:30 p.m. Heat racing will begin at 7:15 p.m.

Fuel for this event must be purchased at the Pit Stop Convenience Store, located in Weedsport at 2737 Erie Dr. The mandatory tire at Weedsport Kartway is the Burris 33.

New for 2021, all karts can only run one set of tires in heats and features. Tires will be marked following heat racing, and those tires must be used in feature racing.

Pre-Registration pricing for points classes is $20 with day of point entries set at $30.

Member driver pit passes are $5, with Non-Member driver pit passes set at $10. Non-Driver pit passes are $15.