Craig Von Dohren Claims 358-Modified Thunder On The Hill Victory Thursday At Grandview

Story By: BOB MILLER / THUNDER ON THE HILL – BECHTELSVILLE, PA – Wet weather highlighted a thrilling night of racing at Grandview Speedway, on Thursday, for the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Thunder Cup presented by Levan Machine & Truck Equipment. In dramatic fashion, Craig VonDohren won the NASCAR 358 Modified portion of the event. A field of thirty-three modifieds were in the pits for the 139th Thunder on the Hill Racing Series event at Grandview.

Grandview and Thunder on the Hill pull off another upset, beating Mother Nature, her rain, thunder and lightning to complete the double header, with the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars & NASCAR 358 Modified, by 11 PM. The show was a thriller on an exceptionally well prepared and fast track.

In the NASCAR 358 Modified main event, Boyertown, PA’s Craig VonDohren battled with Reading, PA’s Doug Manmiller to win the 30 lap, $3,000 to win main event.

Justin Grim started second and led the early stages of the event before Manmiller took control on the third circuit, with VonDohren following into the second position.

VonDohren claimed the top spot on the 6th lap dueling with Manmiller side-by-side.

In the end, VonDohren would sail on to victory, his seventh career Thunder on the Hill win. Manmiller would settle for second position, Brett Kressley finished in third, Billy Pauch, Jr. in fourth, and Mike Gular finishing in the fifth spot.

A brief rain shower slowed the action during NASCAR 358 Modified qualifying. The track crew worked vigorously to maintain control of the one-third-mile clay oval, and the storm only saw a 30-minute delay. An exercise too often displayed at the Thunder on the Hill events.

Special thanks to the fans and race teams who once again supported all the efforts and displayed outstanding cooperation to get this show completed. We also thank Levan Machine and Truck Equipment of Fleetwood, PA for their support and efforts. It was truly a big win in getting this show completed.

NASCAR 358 Modifieds

Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. Billy Pauch, Jr. 2. Brett Kressley 3. Bobby Trapper, Jr. 4. Justin Grim 5. Brett Gilmore 6. Kevin Hirthler

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. Craig Von Dohren 2. Doug Manmiller 3. Mike Gular 4. Briggs Danner 5. Brian Hirthler 6. Jared Umbenhauer

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. Rick Laubach 2. Ray Swinehart 3. Eric Biehn 4. Ryan Lilick 5. Jeff Strunk 6. Craig Whitmoyer

Consi (10 Laps) – 1. Keith Hoffman 2. Duane Howard 3. Matt Stangle 4. Ryan Watt 5. Kyle Lilick 6. Mark Kratz

Feature (30 Laps) – 1. Craig VonDohren 2. Doug Manmiller 3. Brett Kressley 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Mike Gular 6. Jeff Strunk 7. Justin Grim 8. Bobby Trapper, Jr. 9. Rick Laubach 10. Briggs Danner 11. Ray Swineahrt 12. Brian Hirthler 13. Ryan Watt 14. Matt Stangle 15. Ryan Lilick 16. Jared Umbenhauer 17. Eric Biehn 18. Keith Hoffman 19. Craig Whitmoyer 20. Kyle Lilick 21. Kevin Hirthler 22. Brett Gilmore 23. Mark Kratz 24. Duane Howard.