RPW Column: Glen Ridge Honors 2019 Champions & Special Award Recipients At Banquet

RPW Column By: JENNIE BROWN / RPW – JOHNSTOWN, NY – Glen Ridge Motorsports Park held it’s 2019 banquet on February 29th at the Holiday Inn in Johnstown, New York.

Ray Sefrin and Butch Hazzard welcomed the healthy crowd and thanked everyone for a great year and their best banquet attendance yet.

It’s no secret that in 2020, Glen Ridge will be flying the DIRT banner and with that came some changes and announcements.

For 2020, the Palmer’s Service Center modifieds are not yet confirmed on the racing schedule, but the racing in 2019 was competitive. Finishing third in the division was driver of the 91NY Wallace Racing Team, Jackie Brown Jr. Runner up to the champion was Bobby Varin, piloting the Palmer’s Service Center modified. Champion of not one, but two classes was Rocky Warner finishing out the season at the top of the podium. The 2019 modified championship at Glen Ridge is Rocky’s first. He finished the season with 5 modified starts, 3 wins, and 5 top fives. Rocky credited some of the “pressure” of running two classes to his success. “It can be stressful at times running two classes, especially when things aren’t just right, but overall I feel I operate better under pressure because it gives me less time to think and get myself in trouble.”

The Red Chair 602 Crate Modifieds had a healthy field in 2019 and recognized the top five finishers in it’s class. Fifth place in the point standings went to Ryan Heath who was also the Glen Ridge Rookie of the Year and NYSSCA Rookie of the Year. Finishing fourth was Scott McCoy, third to Joe Orlando and runner up to Andrew Buff. Andrew Buff also won the NYSSCA Glen Ridge Motorsports Park outstanding performance award. Champion Rocky Warner again thanked his sponsors, fans and family and looks forward to being the crew chief for his son at the track.

The Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Pro-Stocks champion, Luke Horning was also the 2019 NYSSCA Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Pro-stock driver of the year, President’s Award Winner at the NYSSCA banquet, all time winningest pro-stock driver at Glen Ridge and this was his third championship at the track. The top five were rounded out with Andy Graves (2nd) who was also the NYSSCA Glen Ridge Motorsports Park outstanding performer, Steve Cosselman (3rd), Jim Normoyle (4th) and Buck Gasner (5th).

Jerry Cohn, winner of the limited sportman championship also received the 2019 NYSSCA limted sportsman driver of the year at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park and it was Jerry’s first championship. He was followed by Harold Robitallie (2nd), Garrett Poland (3rd), Tanner Warner (4th) and Dana Camenga (5th).

The dual cam mini stock class honored the top three points winners. John Napoli collected the championship as well as the award for 2019 NYSSCA Glen Ridge Motorsports Dual Cam driver of the year. The Glen Ridge dual cam championship was John’s first championship. Josh Kane finished second in the points standings and was followed by Justin Bellinger in third.

Glen Ridge had a full field of Senior Slingshots in 2019 and the racing did not disappoint. Mike Hill took the title for the Senior Slingshots as well as the NYSSCA Glen Ridge Motorsports Park driver of the year, all time winningest all-star slingshot driver. Mike Hill has won the championship three times at the Ridge. Danny Ballard (2nd), Brett Poland (3rd), Scott Sprague (4th) and Tyler Vadney rounded out the field.

The Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshots honored the top five in their class. Lucas Duncan finished fifth for the season, Sloan Cherko fourth, Connor Hill third and Tavien Blowers second. The champion of the division was a first time track champion. Brock Pinkerous who also won the NYSSCA Jr. Slingshots driver of the year, plans to return to the track for the 2020 season. Brock, also known as Bam-Bam has big goals for the 2020 season at Glen Ridge: winning.

To finish out the night, the top three in the Street Stock division collected their awards. Kenny Allen finished third, Damon Anderson finished second and also wont the NYSSCA outstanding perfomer award. Cliff Haslun, NYSSCA driver of the year took first in the class. This was also Cliff’s first championship.

The second annual “OMAR” award, which is an award to honor Ed “Omar” Richer who passed away at the speedway in 2017. Mr. Damon Anderson gave everything he could on the track and off of it in 2019 at Glen Ridge. Damon was known to throw an extra $20 at the gate for two admission passes to be raffled off in the 50/50. His goal was to make a fan happy and also get them to bring a friend to the races. Damon also sponsored the “mini shock” four cylinder race out of this own pocket to award a driver with a $1000 winning purse. As one of the biggest supporters of the track, Damon Anderson was more then deserving of the award.

Rocky Warner was the 2019 Glen Ridge “Driver of the Year” award recipient. He has been a long time supporter of the Ridge and not many can clench two titles in one season at one track. Rocky put on a race to honor his father during the 2019 season, helped maintain the grounds and gave the fans a show every week. With a dream resume to boast, Rocky received his award and thanked the Sprakers, Glove City Taxi and his fans.

Corky Warner took home the “Mr. Excitement” award for 2019. He has just about tried every position at the track including track prep, safety truck passenger and flagger, but the act that won him this award was an eventful flip in his junior slingshot. Luckily, the new racer was uninjured and has since earned him the title of Mr. Excitement.

Glen Ridge is looking forward to another exciting season at the track in 2020, as a DIRTcar sanction.