Cory Cormier Rallies To Sportsman Win On Day Three Of Winter Nationals At North Florida Speedway

Story By: NORTH FLORIDA SPEEDWAY – LAKE CITY, FL – A perfect script was written for the GRIT Series and North Florida Speedway as three different winners in three nights for the Crate 602 Sportsman and a tie for the point championship for the “Florida Dream 2” with both drivers receiving a championship belt.

In the last Sunday afternoon show Middletown , New York’s Cory Cormier #20 brought his Interstate Batteries /Comfort Experts /A -Plus Sewer Service / Old Town Barns /American Remodelingllc / Bilstein Shocks / Swift Coils #20 machine home first after a torrid side by side battle with LockPort , New York’s “Lockport Laser” Andrew Smith #1.

Smith would eventually go high in turn 4 allowing Andrew Buff #92 from Latham , New York by for second with just a couple laps left while Smith would have to settle for third , Craig Witmoyer #99 came home fourth and Port Colborne / Ontario’s Adam Leslie #15 would complete a weekend fifth place finish.

Both Andrew Smith #1 and Cory Cormier #20 tied for the points standings and both will receive a championship belt and top prize contingencies point money.

Andrew Buff would finish third in the points , Derrick Mcgrew #26 from Ballston Spa , New York forth and Adam Leslie #15 fifth.

All five will receive point monies and contingencies brought to them by GRIT Series Sponsors Beyea Headers , Total Racing Components , Hoosier Race Tires , Hill Top Fabrication , Dan Smith Fab , Wraptile Graphics , Alliance Race Wear and Speed Connection.

In the final day of Late Model action Ft.White , Florida’s Nevin Gainey #17 made the clean sweep winning two in a row beating Mooresville , N.C.’s Josh Richeson to the finish line while Lake City’s own Hunter Sweet #15 came home third.

In the Box Stock 8 lap feature special local driver Austin Bailey #101 saw his first victory of 2020.

Sportsman Finish
1.] 20 Cory Cormier
2.] 92 Andrew Buff
3.] Andrew Smith
4.] 99 Craig Whitmoyer
5.] 15 Adam Leslie
6.] 26 Derrick McGrew
7.] 02 David Boisclair III
8.] 66W Derek Webb
9.] 112 Jim Passino
10.] 76 Scott Kurtzner
11.]22 Roddy Watts
12.] 18 Ryan Macartney
13.] 29 Don Herrington

Late Model Finish
1.] 17 Nevin Gainey
2.] 52 Josh Richeson
3.] 15 Hunter Sweet
4.] X Chuck Cumby
5.] 78 Arthur Conquest
6.] 37 Allen Cribbs
7.] 17G Wyatt Gainey
8.] 26 Adam Bedenbaugh
9.] 007 Dusty Sparkman
10.] 6 Clay Bedenbaugh [DNS]