Andrew Buff “Tough” In Night One Of “Florida Dream” At North Florida Speedway

Story By: NORTH FLORIDA SPEEDWAY – LAKE CITY, FL – Latham, New York ‘s Andrew Buff brought the West End Towing #92 to victory lane in style on night one of “The Florida Dream” at the North Florida Speedway for the 602 GRIT Series sanctioned event.

Buff jumped to the lead from the pole while 2019 Merritville GRIT Series track champion and Port Colborne, Ontario resident Adam Leslie #15 worked his way from the back of the pack quickly to give chase before ending his chance to win with several laps to go with a suspension issue.

Lockport , New York’s “Lockport Laser”Andrew Smith #1 and Middletown, New York’s Cory Cormier #20 try to give chase to best Buff with a couple to go but Andrew “sealed the deal” to hold the checkers in victory lane.

Tomorrow is night two for Winter Nationals weekend and the field is guaranteed to grow as several drivers brave winter conditions driving down from the northeast missing night one and more drivers are expected from a neighboring event.

It appeared that Ft.White , Florida’s Wyatt Gainey #17G would win his first career C / Class Late Model event but instead Brenton Koontz #5B took the honors to win his first one in his Gainey race car chassis after Wyatt suffered a left rear tire failure.

Ft.White , Florida’s Nevin Gainey #17G starting up 2020 where he left off in 2019 at NFS with a convincing win in the Late Model feature besting Lake City , Florida’s Hunter Sweet #15 and Jupiter, Florida ‘s Clay Harris #6H.

Tomorrow night is night two at NFS Winter nationals with racing starting at 6P.M.


1.] 92 Andrew Buff
2.] 1 Andrew Smith
3.] 20 Cory Cormier
4.] 15 Adam Leslie
5.] 26 Derrick McGrew Jr.
6.] 02 David Boisclair lll
7.] 22 Roddy Watts
8.] 112 Jim Passino
9.] 76 Scott Kurtzner
10.] 18 Ryan Macartney
11.] 29 Don Herrington

Crate Late Models

1.] 5B Brenton Koontz
2.] 55K Billy Kervin
3.] 17G Wyatt Gainey
4.] 19 Donnie Gray
5.] 86 Kevin Davis
6.] 44 Dean Sands
7.] 33B Brian Scott
8.] 14JR. Trey Mills
9.] 0 Nevin Gainey
10.] 23 Ryan Thomas

Late Models

1.] 17G Nevin Gainey
2.] 15 Hunter Sweet
3.] 6H Clay Harris
4.] 6B Clay Bedenbaugh
5.] 14 Jason Fitzgerald
6.] 30 Todd Cooney
7.] 77 Charlie Flowers
8.] 141 Steve Brendle
9.] 52 Josh Richeson
10.] 17O Dan Olson
11.] 5 Mark Whitener
12.] 17F Richard Ferry
13.] 29 Cameron Saunders
14.] 007 Dusty Sparkman
15.] 01 Andy Waldron [DNS]