A Decade Of Racing At The Cornwall Motor Speedway…The Final Installment

Story By: MARTIN BÉLANGER / CORNWALL MOTOR SPEEDWAY – CORNWALL, ONT – We are about 1 week away from turning a new chapter as we will start a new decade, a lot of great action and racing can happen in 10 years, let’s look back at what happened at Cornwall Motor Speedway from 2010 to 2019, we will end with years 2017 to 2019.

2017 was another great season at the speedway with Joel Doiron being named the new race director replacing Scott Hanton who provided great services over the years. On the track, Chris Raabe had a solid season getting all three possible championships at the speedway with the track, Canadian Nationals and the Doiron Cup. Consistency paid off for Justin Lalancette as he captured a first Sportsman championship while Johnaton Ferguson won the Race for the Cure championship. George Renaud was also a first time champ in the Pro-Stock. Marc Dagenais won both the Mini-Stock championship and Cindy Ladouceur Memorial. It also marked the start of a unique event paying more than $10,000 to the feature winner. Tim Fuller was the initial winner.

In 2018, Carey Terrance had a great year joining some great drivers with his fourth Modified track title at Cornwall, he event had the luxury of missing 1 night! Luke Whitteker won the Canadian Nationals Series. Shane Pecore was back on top in the Sportsman by capturing the track title while Johnathon Ferguson received honors in the Race for the Cure Sportsman. CD Beauchamp got this first Pro-Stock title while Chris James came back un full force in the Mini-Stock with his second title. Two of our track champions during that season also won their Super DIRT Week finale in Pecore and Beauchamp, a first for the speedway.

Last season marked the 50th year of operation for Cornwall Motor Speedway, it was another great year in the Modified with the title on line until the end of the season. Corey Wheeler came on top winning his first title. Steve Bernier won the Canadian Nationals. Shane Pecore wrote history in the Sportsman by winning 9 events, he also took the honours in the Race for the Cure Sportsman. Stephane Lebrun won a second title in 4 years while CD Beauchamp got the win in the Weekend Warriors Pro-Stock Series. Justin Jodoin was dominant in the Mini-Stock with Yannick Potvin getting the Weekend Warriors Mini-Stock Series.

What will mark the next decade? Who will dominate a class? Will we have several historic moments? Be there in May 2020 as we will start writing a new chapter at Cornwall!