A Decade Of Racing At The Cornwall Motor Speedway…Part Two

Story By: MARTIN BÉLANGER / CORNWALL MOTOR SPEEDWAY – CORNWALL, ONT – We are about 2 weeks away from turning a new chapter as we will start a new decade, a lot of great action and racing can happen in 10 years, let’s look back at what happened at Cornwall Motor Speedway from 2010 to 2019, we will continue with years 2014 to 2016.

2014 was an important year for Cornwall Motor Speedway after owning the facility since 1982, Ron Morin sold the speedway to brothers Raymond and Jacques Lavergne who has been owning the track for the last 6 years. The Lavergne family put their own flavor by starting phase 1 of their investment plan with some upgrades around the speedway. On the race track, Carey Terrance had a solid season with 6 wins paving the way for a second track championship while Stephane Lafrance got the Canadian Nationals, Corey Wheeler was our champion in our Sportsman rank while Dave Bissonnette got his third Pro-Stock championship, Junior Delormier and Chris James got the Semi-Pro and Mini-Stock titles.

In 2015, the Lavergne family presented a 21-event. Carey Terrance won a second title in a row in the Modifieds while Danny Johnson won the Canadian Nationals, Corey Wheeler also got his second title in a row in the Sportsman while Dave Bissonnette continued his dominance getting a 4th title in a row in the Pro-Stock. Derek Cryderman and J-F Page got the titles in the Semi-Pro and Mini-Stock division. At the end of the season, the Lavergne family received the promoter of the year away from World Racing Group a coveted honour!

Race fans were greeted with state of the art grandstands to start 2016, this was the major portion of their investment plan, a well needed upgrade! Chris Raabe had a great season with the Modified title along with the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series champion, Carey Terrance won the Canadian Nationals. Shane Pecore had a similar season in the Sportsman getting the championship and the DIRTcar Sportsman Series, the Race for the Cure Sportsman Series made its debut during that season with Pecore continued his winning way by becoming the first champion. Stephane Lebrun got the Pro-Stock championship while Bob Ray was our Mini-Stock champion.

To close out the decade, we will look into seasons 2017 to 2019.