Stewart Friesen Caps Off DIRTcar Nationals 2019 With $5,000 Finale Win

Story By: JOE GRABIANOWSKI / DIRTCAR – BARBERVILLE, FL – After a breathless week of incredible Super DIRTcar Series action, Stewart Friesen held off Gypsum Racing teammates Larry Wight and Billy Decker to win the 50-lap DIRTcar Nationals finale.

On a green-white-checkered finish Friesen almost gave away the victory when he scraped the wall in turns one and two, allowing Wight enough room to surge ahead, but a caution for a spinning car reset the field and Friesen wouldn’t make the same mistake twice, outrunning Wight to the checkered flag.

Wight, however, used his eighth-to-second run to earn enough points to capture the Gator Championship for the second time in his career. Decker, who won the opening round of DIRTcar Nationals Big-Block Modified competition on Wednesday, rounded out the podium.

Friesen, who was in position Friday to win the NASCAR Gander Mountain Truck Series race at Daytona International Speedway before he was collected in a late-race crash, battled the best in the Big-Block Modified business to win the thrilling 50-lap Feature at Volusia Speedway Park. Tired of second place finishes at the DIRTcar Nationals, Friesen was ecstatic to park the No. 44 in Victory Lane, but it did not come easy. Friesen fought with The Doctor Danny Johnson early then Lightning Larry Wight down the stretch. At the end though, Friesen emerged on top.

“I knew Larry was running second, and has Chili Bowl experience and everything else,” said Friesen, a Canadian native who now resides in Sprakers, NY. “This track is like a big Chili Bowl for slide jobs. I made a mistake there and luckily, we got a mulligan. Our race car was just awesome. I’m so proud of my Halmar team. These guys bust their butts all week. We had a lot of fun all week. We ran second here so many times the last couple years and gave them up. I was like, ‘Oh no not again!’ but it worked out in our favor. We got the monkey off our back!”

FEATURE (50 Laps)

1. 44-Stewart Friesen [8]; 2. 99l-Larry Wight [7]; 3. 91-Billy Decker [3]; 4. 3-Justin Haers [2]; 5. 27j-Danny Johnson [1]; 6. 18-Anthony Perrego [21]; 7. 9s-Matt Sheppard [5]; 8. 21a-Peter Britten [12]; 9. 42p-Pat Ward [9]; 10. 20-Brett Hearn [4]; 11. 2L-Jack Lehner [13]; 12. 19m-Jessey Mueller [18]; 13. 88-Mat Williamson [16]; 14. 111-Demetrios Drellos [27]; 15. 23-Kyle Coffey [15]; 16. 8-Rich Scagliotta [11]; 17. 118-Jim Britt [28]; 18. 42-Kyle Sheldon [19]; 19. 5-Ryan Godown [23]; 20. 98t-Tyler Thompson [25]; 21. 21-Yan Bussiere [26]; 22. 9t-Will Thomas [6]; 23. 1-Billy Pauch [14]; 24. 25-Erick Rudolph [22]; 25. 30-Jo-Jo Watson [20]; 26. 19-Tim Fuller [24]; 27. 65-Scott Hitchens [10]; 28. 5st-Tyler Siri [17]

KSE Hard Charger Award: 18-Anthony Perrego[+15]

Contingency Awards

Peter Britten – VP Race Fuels – $50 Cash
Stewart Friesen – Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux Fast-Time Award – $100 Cash
Jack Lehner – Comp Cams – $50 Cash
Stewart Friesen – MSD Ignition – $50 Cash
Erick Rudolph – MSD Ignition – $25 Cash
Brett Hearn – Fox Racing Shox – $50 Cash
Danny Johnson – JE Pistons – $50 Cash
Matt Sheppard – ASI Racewear – $50 Cash
Jack Lehner – Dart – $50 Cash
Demetrios Drellos – Cometic Gasket – $50 Cash
Matt Sheppard – Drydene – $50 Cash
NGK – Danny Johnson – $50 Cash
Stewart Friesen – Bicknell Racing Products – $100 Product
Stewart Friesen – Comp Cams – $50 Product
Rich Scagliotta – JE Pistons – Product
Erick Rudolph – JE Pistons – Product
Anthony Perrego – KSE Racing Products, Inc. – $50 Product
Stewart Friesen – Wrisco – Product
Rich Scagliotta – Drydene – $50 Product
Larry Wight – Dart – $100 Product
Ryan Godown – Dart – $100 Product