Justin Sanders Sweeps ASCS Southwest Event At Central Arizona Speedway

Story By: BRYAN HULBERT / ASCS – CASA GRANDE, AZ – Making a late-race charge to keep his Saturday perfect, California’s Justin Sanders wheeled the Bob Ream owned No. 8 to victory with the ASCS Southwest Region at Central Arizona Speedway.

Justin’s second trip to Victory Lane with the Arizona-based tour, the first 19 laps saw the field chasing New Mexico’s Wes Wofford. Riding third the opening 11 circuits to the No. 115, Nick Parker’s misfortune was Sanders advantage. Working through mid-race cautions, the No. 8 shot to the lead on Lap 20 and proceeded to gap the field by 3.678-seconds.

Wes Wofford held on for second with JT Imperial making a nice run from eighth to complete the podium. Lorne Wofford was fourth with Alex Pettas in fifth from tenth.

Following from 11th was Charles Davis, Jr. with Royal Jones in pursuit. Eric Wilkins from 17th made it to eighth with Mike Woodruff from 21st in ninth. Tuesday Calderwood crossed tenth.

Heat Races paid $25 to win courtesy of Ron Gilson with cash going to Jayme Barnes, Justin Sanders, and Nick Parker. The Race Shack handed out gift certificates to the drivers who crossed last in each Heat Race as well.

Shipley Strikes First With ASCS Desert Non-Wing Series At Arizona Speedway

Taking the first checkered flag of the season with the San Tan Ford ASCS Desert Non-Wing Series, Joshua Shipley punched his ticket for Victory Lane Saturday night at Arizona Speedway.

Shipley’s seventh triumph with the series, the Surprise, Ariz. driver was undefeated all night with his Heat Race win coming from sixth before leading start to finish in the A-Feature.

Not without challenge, the finish came down to 0.112-seconds as 14th starting Stevie Sussex nearly stole the win on the closing lap. Randy Nelson slipped back two to complete the podium with Shon Deskins staying close to home and earning a fourth-place finish. Bryan Ledbetter, Jr. completed the top five.

Jonas Reynolds, Troy Degaton, Patrick Krob, AJ Hernandez, and Philip Deeney made up the top ten. San Tan Ford ASCS Desert Non-Wing Series returns to the Queen Creek oval on March 12.

Race Results:

ASCS Southwest Region
Central Arizona Speedway (Casa Grande, Ariz.)
Saturday, February 20, 2021

Car Count: 21

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 57-Jayme Barnes[2]; 2. 116-Vance Wofford[1]; 3. 01-Royal Jones[3]; 4. 47-Charles Davis Jr[5]; 5. 12-Jesse Stone[6]; 6. 44-Eric Wilkins[4]; 7. 29-Cody Sickles[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 8-Justin Sanders[2]; 2. 19-Wes Wofford[6]; 3. 18-Lorne Wofford[4]; 4. 19AZ-Hayden Reinbold[3]; 5. 8AZ-Jordan Stetson[5]; 6. 6-Logan Calderwood[1]; 7. 71H-Robert Horsely[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 115-Nick Parker[1]; 2. 2B-Billy Chester III[4]; 3. 2-Alex Pettas[2]; 4. 75-JT Imperial[6]; 5. 3V-Jim Vanzant[3]; 6. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[7]; 7. 83-Mike Woodruff[5]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 8-Justin Sanders[4]; 2. 19-Wes Wofford[1]; 3. 75-JT Imperial[8]; 4. 18-Lorne Wofford[5]; 5. 2-Alex Pettas[10]; 6. 47-Charles Davis Jr[11]; 7. 01-Royal Jones[9]; 8. 44-Eric Wilkins[17]; 9. 83-Mike Woodruff[21]; 10. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[15]; 11. 3V-Jim Vanzant[16]; 12. 71H-Robert Horsely[19]; 13. 115-Nick Parker[2]; 14. 57-Jayme Barnes[3]; 15. 6-Logan Calderwood[20]; 16. 12-Jesse Stone[13]; 17. 2B-Billy Chester III[7]; 18. 19AZ-Hayden Reinbold[12]; 19. 29-Cody Sickles[18]; 20. 8AZ-Jordan Stetson[14]; 21. 116-Vance Wofford[6]

ASCS Desert Non-Wing

Car Count: 16

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Joshua Shipley[6]; 2. 9X-Randy Nelson[4]; 3. 10-Eugene Thomas[3]; 4. 0-Jonas Reynolds[8]; 5. 39T-Troy Degaton[7]; 6. 22G-Aaron Jones[5]; 7. (DNS) 22AZ-Dustin Burkhart; 8. (DNS) 42-Danny Mathus

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 7OH-Bryan Ledbetter Jr[4]; 2. 20-Shon Deskins[6]; 3. 3-Pete Yerkovich[5]; 4. 72-AJ Hernandez[1]; 5. 3K-Patrick Krob[2]; 6. 7-Mason Keefer[7]; 7. 88-Philip Deeney[8]; 8. (DNS) 12-Stevie Sussex

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2-Joshua Shipley[2]; 2. 12-Stevie Sussex[14]; 3. 9X-Randy Nelson[1]; 4. 20-Shon Deskins[3]; 5. 7OH-Bryan Ledbetter Jr[4]; 6. 0-Jonas Reynolds[5]; 7. 39T-Troy Degaton[7]; 8. 3K-Patrick Krob[10]; 9. 72-AJ Hernandez[8]; 10. 88-Philip Deeney[12]; 11. 42-Danny Mathus[13]; 12. 7-Mason Keefer[9]; 13. 3-Pete Yerkovich[6]; 14. 22G-Aaron Jones[11]; 15. (DNS) 10-Eugene Thomas; 16. (DNS) 22AZ-Dustin Burkhart

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!