Fan-Boosted Modified Winner’s Share Headlines This Saturday As Fonda Returns To Action

Story By: RON SZCZERBA / FONDA SPEEDWAY – FONDA, NY – On July 22, Fonda Speedway promoter Brett Deyo announced the remaining 2020 schedule for the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway on their Facebook page and track website. After two weeks of no racing action at the Montgomery County Fairgrounds facility the racing engines will come back to life on Saturday, August 1.

In competition on Saturday, August 1 will be all regular divisions including the Sunoco Modifieds, the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman, the Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman, the Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks, the Robert’s Towing & Recovery Street Stocks, and the Four Cylinder Cruisers.

Due to New York State Regulations, the grandstands and infield will be closed on Saturday, August 1 but the event will be streamed live on

Fonda Speedway boasts some of the most loyal and passionate fans in the sport of racing and soon after the August 1 race date was announced a dedicated Fonda fan boosted the Sunoco Modified winner’s share to $3,000!

Going into the Saturday, August 1 event the top five in point standings in all divisions are as follows:

Sunoco Modified – Rocky Warner 229, Michael Maresca 219, Matt DeLorenzo 215, Stewart Friesen 205, and Josh Hohenforst 203.

Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman – Chad Edwards 253, Joe Williams 227, JaMike Sowle 221, Cody Clark 195, and Brian Calabrese 189.

Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman – Dylan Eldred 218, Brett Mortensen 214, Johnny Young 212, Kyle Dingman 184, and Harold Robitaille 164.

Algonkin Motel Pro Stock – Nick Stone 236, Luke Horning and Josh Coonradt both with 212, Kenny Gates 190, Devon Camenga 164, and David Emigh 160.

Robert’s Towing & Recovery Street Stock – Dave Horning Sr., 216, Jason Samrov 210, Al Relyea 196, Lou Gancarz and Michael Arnold both with 194, and Josh Samrov 178.

Four Cylinder Cruiser – Ken Hollenbeck 168, Zach McSpirit 160, John Napoli 146, Wayne Russell 142, and Shawn Hemstreet 122