After Years Of Trying, Gary Smith Races To First Career Five Mile Point Victory

Story By: FIVE MILE POINT SPEEDWAY – KIRKWOOD, NY – Gary Smith recorded the victory in the Insinger Performance Crate Sportsman main event at Five Mile Point Speedway on Saturday.

For the third consecutive race event the spectator grandstand was not open due to state Covid-19 guidelines. The speedway is off this Saturday, July 4th with racing set to resume on Saturday, July 11th.

Other winners on the night were Brenton Miller (600 Modified), Mike Morse (Factory Stock), Steve Lunn (FWD Four Cylinder Expert), Owen Clark (FWD Four Cylinder Novice), Joshua Landers (Juniors), Chip Gauthier and Mike Houghtaling (Nostalgia Modifieds).

Jason Feinberg raced out to the early lead in the 20 lap Insinger Performance Crate Sportsman feature event. Feinberg led the first circuit but his lead was short lived as Gary Smith took over the point on lap 2. The first of three cautions flew on lap 2 when Nick Plumsted slowed on the homestretch. On the restart Smith retained his race lead with Feinberg in tow.

The top two remained consistent as Devon Zona battled with Matt Brewer for the third slot. Zona was making his first appearance of the 2020 season. Brandon Fritsch and Matt Sobiech were also in the top five battling for position during the first half of the race. On lap 11 the caution flew for the second time as Joe Guastella slowed and headed to the pits.

When racing continued Smith was unchallenged for the race lead. The same stood for Feinberg as he stayed close but was not seriously challenged for the second spot. As the laps wound down Brewer secured the third position with Sobiech and Fritsch still in the top five. Tom Hampton ran just out of the top five as he and Todd Titus battle for position.

The third and final caution of the race flew on lap 16 when Sobiech spun in turn two while running in fifth. This shuffled the deck as now Fritsch was in the top five. When the green flew Smith drove the final four laps flawlessly and went on for his first victory in several years. Feinberg wound up second with Brewer third and Zona finishing fourth. Titus drove from the eleventh starting spot to claim fifth at the checkers.

The 20 lap 600 Modified Feature event saw Bob Hamm, Jr. race out to the lead at the drop of the green. Hamm ran the high side of the quarter mile as Brenton Miller ran in second. The front two checked out from the field as another battle transpired for third place between Nolan Smith and Adam Mudge. Out front Miller kept the pressure on Hamm for the race lead. On lap 14 Miller worked past Hamm for the race lead. He would go on to lead the balance of the race and record the win. Hamm finished second with Smith, Mudge and Tyler Smith rounding out the top five. The race went caution free.

Last weeks Factory Stock feature winner Tommy Groover took the early lead in the 20 lap main event on Saturday. Groover had to contend with newcomer Mike Morse as the two ran side by side for the race lead for a number of laps. On lap 7 Morse took over the race lead. Groover had been running the high side and utilizing the cushion. That ultimately was his demise as a flat tire slowed his effort on lap 9. Morse went on to lead the balance of the race for his first feature win of the season. Ray Lindquist, Justin Slezak, Adam Gilbert and Ryan Brockner completed the top five.

The FWD Four Cylinder Expert feature saw Walter Decker lead the first 11 of 15 laps. Steve Lunn took over the race on lap 12 and went on to win for the second straight week. Decker finished second. Dave Simms rebounded from a roll-over last week to finish third. Kenny Underwood and Randy Lane completed the top five.

Owen Clark was the FWD Four Cylinder Novice feature winner. Joshua Landers was the Juniors winner. The vintage cars returned for the second time this season. Chip Gauthier was the Vintage Car winner. Mike Houghtaling was the Vintage Modified race winner.

RACE NOTES…For the second straight week rain played a factor in the evening of racing…Rain covered the area until early afternoon but track crews had the track packed tight prior and the track was in outstanding condition…Qualifying heat races and eight feature events were completed in less than three hours on Saturday…Five Mile Point Speedway is silent this Saturday, July 4th…Racing will continue on Saturday, July 11th…The hope is that spectators will be able to enter the grandstand for the first time this season on that night…

OFFICIAL INSINGER FUELS CRATE SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS): GARY SMITH, Jason Feinberg, Matt Brewer, Devon Zona, Todd Titus, Tom Hampton, Brandon Fritsch, Brandon Loucks, Tom Collins, Russell Benke, Blaine Klinger, Brian Franko, Seth Zacharias, Mark Longstreet, Alan Komar, Matt Sobiech, Leah Decker, Jeremy Warren, Ned Fitch, Joe Guastella, Nick Plumstead, Tyler Stoddard.

SCHNEIDER’S MARKET 600 MODIFIED OFFICAL FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS): BRENTON MILLER, Bob Hamm Jr., Nolan Smith, Adam Mudge, Tyler Smith, John Glover, Zach Mills, Tom Donahue, Brett Gray. Special thanks to Schneider’s Market and Doug’s Speed Shop for their posted money in the division on Saturday.

FACTORY STOCK OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS): MIKE MORSE, Ray Lindquist, Justin Slezak, Adam Gilbert, Ryan Brockner, Tommy Groover, Kevin McDonald, Alecia Towner.

FWD FOUR CYLINDER EXPERT OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS): STEVE LUNN, Walter Decker, Dave Simms, Kenny Underwood, Randy Lane, Don Doster, James Havens, Tim Vandemark.

FWD FOUR CYLINDER NOVICE OFFICAL FEATURE FINISH (12 LAPS): OWEN CLARK, Bethany Bertram, Cheyenne Bump, Doug Nebigging, Jessica Velez.

VINTAGE CAR FEATURE OFFICIAL FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS): CHIP GAUTHIER, Scott Gauthier, Steve Longo, George Palmer, Brad Litzinberger, Alan McDonald.