Sharon Speedway Set To Start 91st Season Of Racing May 2th With All Star Circuit Of Champions

Story By: MIKE LEONE / SHARON SPEEDWAY – HARTFORD, OH – With the calendar changing to 2020, Sharon Speedway is gearing up for its 91st anniversary season, which will officially get underway on May 2 with the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars and RUSH Sportsman Modifieds that will follow an open practice on April 25.

A tentative schedule of events has been posted on the Sharon website. Sharon has also announced it divisional sponsors for the 2020 season.

Hovis Auto & Truck Supply will return to present the night’s headlining division, which typically features the “410” Sprint Cars in addition to four IMCA-type Modified events. There will be nine non-sanctioned “410” Sprint Car events along with the three All Star shows.

Hovis’ corporate office and distribution center is located in Mercer, Pa. Hovis has locations in the following western Pa. cities: Allison Park, Butler, DuBois, Emlenton, Erie, Franklin, Grove City, Hermitage, Meadville, New Brighton, New Castle, North Huntingdon, Oil City, Titusville, Wexford, and Zelienople.

Gibson Insurance Agency has been a long time supporter of the Stock Car division at Sharon. That will continue in 2020. The Stocks are on the schedule 11 times including the Penn-Ohio “Steel Valley Pro Stock Nationals” and the “Apple Festival Nationals”. Sharon continues to have the region’s highest weekly Stock count. Drivers compete for $700 to-win weekly when there’s 24 or more cars. Curt J. Bish is the defending track champion after capturing his inaugural crown in 2019.

Since 1947, the Gibson Agency has been providing quality insurance as a reputable family-run agency. Gibson specialize in a broad range of personal and business as well as niche markets such as home, renters, auto, life, high-net-worth, business owners, business auto, farm, commercial property, contractors and more. Gibson is based locally in Girard, Ohio; however, their coverage extends to nearby areas including Youngstown, Warren, Cortland, Hubbard, Brookfield and across the nation throughout 48 states.

HTMA/Precise Racing Products will remain as the presenting sponsor of the RUSH Sportsman Modified. Sharon has been the home track for the division since its inception in 2014. The division has averaged more than a full field of cars each of the past four years and only on four occasions during that time have had less than 20 cars. The RUSH Sportsman Modifieds will be on the schedule 15 times in 2020. In addition to the Sharon point fund, racers also compete for the $3,500 to-win RUSH Weekly Championship plus new in 2020 will be the $1,000 to-win “Route 7 Rumble” presented by Wedge Motorsports, which will be a point championship between all the races at Sharon and Raceway 7. Kole Holden is the defending Sharon champion and has won the title two of the last three years.

Precise Racing Products has parts and tires for all forms of racing including Dirt, drag, asphalt, road race, kart, ATV, and MX. HTMA/Precise Racing Products has locations in Sarver, Pa. and Finksburg, Maryland.

New for 2020, the Elite Series will be the divisional sponsor and sanction all Econo Mod races at Sharon. Elite teams will earn points towards the $2,000 Elite Modified Series Championship. The Elite Econo Mods will be on the schedule 10 times including four loyalty races with increased purses and giveaways on May 23, June 27, August 22, and September 11-12. Dustin DeMattia won the 2019 Sharon track point title over Ty Rhoades, while Rhoades captured the Elite Championship over DeMattia.