Luke Horning Hangs On To Win World Short Track Championship DIRTcar Pro Stock Main

Story By: JOE GRABIANOWSKI / DIRTCAR – CONCORD, NC – Luke Horning captured the Pro Stock 30 lap Feature in his black No. 8. Horning jumped to the lead on the initial start, outrunning pole-sitter Rick Duzlak. Horning, from Gloversville, NY, took home $3,000 for his big win.

“We spent a lot of money to come down here so to get the win helps make it possible,” Horning said with a smile in Victory Lane.

Each lap Horning was looking for the head starter to count the laps down.

“Any time I see “Señor Silk” [starter Dave Farney] stretch over the track I get a little excited.”

The battle at the front was close all race. Horning had Pro Stock Sportsman of the Year award winner Jay Casey all over him for the lead.

“One time I jumped the cushion and thought Jay Casey was going to get me there, but we kept it going,” said Horning.

Horning competed in both The Dirt Track at Charlotte and NAPA Super DIRT Week this year.

“DIRTcar puts on a great show,” he said.

All Star Invitational: A young driver named Scott Towslee wrecked hard in the 25-lap Feature earlier in the night. His team thrashed on the car to get it ready in time for the 15-lap DIRTcar Pro Stock Invitational. It was a good thing he did because Towslee drove it to the front and won his first DIRTcar Pro Stock Series race. It was a hard-fought win as he was forced to fend off the Casey family behind him. Jay Casey, the 2019 DIRTcar Pro Stock Sportsman of the Year, settled for second with Jason Casey just behind. Pro Stock Feature (25 Laps) — 1. 2H-Luke Horning [2]; 2. 322-Jay Casey [5]; 3. 2-Peter Stefanski [10]; 4. 48-Jocelyn Roy [3]; 5. 93-Kenneth Martin [9]; 6. 51-Jason Meltz [6]; 7. 7-Rob Yetman [7]; 8. 8-Marc Lalonde [15]; 9. 4-Roch Aubin [12]; 10. 1X-Mike White [16]; 11. 28-Burton Ward [11]; 12. 715-Jason Morrison [19]; 13. 8C-Sean Corr [17]; 14. 29-Rick Duslak [1]; 15. 324-Jason Casey [13]; 16. 6C-Brian Carter [8]; 17. 21-David Depaulo [4]; 18. 23-Scott Towslee [18]; 19. 93JR-Sheldon Martin [14]; KSE Hard Charger Award: 2-Peter Stefanski[+7]

DIRTcar Pro Stock Invitational — 23-Scott Towslee; 2. 322-Jay Casey; 3. 324-Jason Casey; 4. 29-Rick Duslak; 5. 8-Marc Lalonde; 6. 93JR-Robert Bublack; 7. 6C-Brian Carter; 8. 21-David Depaulo; 9. 4-Roch Aubin; 10. 48-Jocelyn Roy; 11. 2-Peter Stefanski; 12. 1X-Mike White; 13. 28-Burton Ward; 14. 715-Jason Morrison; 15. 2H-Luke Horning; DNS 8C-Sean Corr; DNS 7-Rob Yetman; DNS 93-Kenneth Martin Jr.; DNS 51-Jason Meltz.