Port Royal Speedway Returns To Racing With Eighth Annual Blue-Collar Classic

Story By: JUSTIN SNYDER / PORT ROYAL SPEEDWAY – PORT ROYAL, PA – Port Royal Speedway returns to action Saturday, October 12, for the 8th Annual Blue-Collar Classic featuring the Keystone RaceSaver Challenge hosted by the PASS/IMCA for the 305 Sprint Cars.

The annual race is one of the biggest events for the IMCA 305 Sprint Cars on the East Coast with the overall purse reaching nearly $16,000 including $800 to win for the A-Main feature. There will also be a special Founder’s Cup Non-Qualifier race as well paying $300 to win.

Including bonus money, the winner of the event could take home $1500.

Along with the hosting PASS division, the challenge race brings together multiple IMCA 305 sprint regions to include the Tri State RaceSaver Region (TSRS), the Capital Region Sprint Agency (CRSA), the Virginia Sprint Series (VSS) and the Laurel Highlands region.

There will be $250 from Beerhill Gang TV and $250 from Penns Valley Meat Market to be split up to heat race winners ($50) and A-Main hard chargers ($200). Also, for the taking will be a $200 Seniority Bonus, a $200 Frequent Racer Bonus and a $300 Travel Bonus. Nonstarters will receive $100 two money.

Past winners of the event are Darren Miller, Kyle Smith, Jeff Miller (2), Jeff Geiges, Jake Waters and Sean Campbell.

Also, on tap for the Blue-Collar classic will be the Mason Dixon Shootout Limited Late Model series racing for $1500 to win and $130 to start. This will be the final race of the season for the Mason Dixon series.

This will also be the final points race for the Selinsgrove Ford Limited Late Model Series, though points leader Andrew Yoder has already wrapped up the championship at the speedway. However, Derrick Garman, Devin Hart and Kenny Yoder are currently in a tight battle for second and only 15-points separate the three drivers.

Last year’s event was won by Trent Brenneman over Justin Weaver, Andrew Yoder, Dylan Yoder and Shaun Jones.

The Juniata Junction Xtreme Stocks will be on hand as well, racing for a $1000 winner’s share. This will also be their final points event of the 2019 season.

Currently Brad Mitch holds a commanding 165-point advantage over second place Walt Peters with Chuck Bryner (-170), Pete Leister (-275) and Dustin Hoffman (-285) rounding out the top five. Mitch has won three races this season.

Last year Bill Powell captured the $1000 title and it led to him picking up the 2018 track title as well.

Finally, the Four-Cylinder Pure Stocks will compete for $300 to win. Last year Eric Boozel used a last corner pass to pick up the feature win and he will be looking to back up his win in 2019.