A Modified Tradition Continues With 22nd Annual Mod Traffic Jam Saturday Night At Grandview

Story By: BOB MILLER / THUNDER ON THE HILL – BECHTELSVILLE, PA – Thirty years of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series will close out 2019 at the Grandview Speedway with the twenty-second running of the Modified Traffic Jam, a 40 lap, $5,000 to win feature offering $1,000 to finish tenth and $500 just to start the main event.

This Triple Thunder Thriller event will include the Sportsman and the MASS Sprint cars with race time set for 6 PM.

General Admission tickets are $25 for Adults, $10 for children age 6 through 11, and kids under 6 are FREE! Pit Admission is $40, and a license is not required. A special rules package is offered to competitors, with both American Racer and Hoosier tires allowed for competition, along with either Big-Block or Spec Small-Block engine combinations. An event sheet with the complete pay structure, rules, and details is available at www.thunderonthehillracingseries.com

There is no entry cost but drivers must pre-enter to be eligible for the posted payoff. Drivers may pre-enter by calling 443-513-4456. Modified drivers are required to pre-enter to be eligible for the posted payoff.

The star-studded list of modified pre-entries include defending Traffic Jam winner Ryan Watt, 2018 event winner Brett Kressley, 2018 Grandview Champion Mike Gular, Richie Pratt Jr, Billy Pauch Jr, 2019 Champion Duane Howard, Rick Laubach, Craig VonDohren, Doug Manmiller, Jeff Strunk, Frank Cozze, Craig Whitmoyer, Mike Tyson, Brian and Kevin Hirthler, Jared Umbenhauer, Don Norris Jr., Eric Beihn, Bobby Gunther Walsh, Dylan Swinehart, Jack Swain, and Josh Adams.

The popular Sportsman division is also on the card, competing for a $1,300 top prize for 25-laps of competition on ‘the hill.’ The same tire rule is in effect for the Sportsman – competitors are allowed to compete on Hoosier or American Racer rubber. Standard Grandview Sportsman rules are in effect and competitors are permitted to run sail panels. Full rules are available on the Grandview Speedway website.

The MASS Sprint Cars will compete in heat race qualifying action and a 25-lap A-Main. Standard MASS club rules apply to competitors. Rookie Sprint Car Driver Ricky Dieva currently leads the MASS Sprint Car Series point standing with Tim Tanner, Jr. in second and Eddie Wagner in third. Other sprint entries include Jeff Geiges, Jon Haegele, Larry Mcvay, Joe Kay, Dom Melar, Scott Frack and Tom Carberry to name a few.

Advance tickets are available by calling 443-513-4456. Please speak clearly and leave your name and the number of tickets you would like. Tickets may be paid for and picked up at the Will Call Window on race night after 3:00 PM. Advance ticket holders may enter the grandstands at 3:30 PM, one-half hour before general admission tickets going on sale at 4 PM. Advance tickets orders will be available until 9 AM on race day, Saturday, October 19 with general admission tickets go on sale at 4 PM.

Fans are invited to come dressed for the occasion, Halloween costumes will be popular attire for the night with awards going out to best dressed for children and adults. Please expect some Halloween candy and of course, this night always provides some tricks and treats along the way.

The NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Halloween Party has been a staple of the Grandview Speedway schedule for over 16 years and will once again include the fan Costume parade. Race fans young and old are encouraged to dress in costume to be eligible for special Halloween prizes.

‘Joe the Pizza Dude’ will offer up hot, delicious, and FREE pizzas to the rowdiest of race fans before the action kicks off. Make some noise when ‘The Pizza Dude’ comes around, to earn yourself a free pizza!.

NAPA Auto Parts continues their long run with the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series as the title sponsor joined by Levan Machine and Truck Equipment and GALCO Business Communications.