Isabel Barron Awarded First Career Win After Woodhull Tech DQ; Championship Night Saturday

Story By: MEGAN DUPUY / WOODHULL RACEWAY – WOODHULL, NY – One of the up and coming future superstars of Woodhull Raceway has been awarded her first career feature win at “New York’s Toughest Bullring.”

Isabel Barron took the checkered flag Saturday night in second place to Stevie Hartman’s No. 15. However, post-race tech inspection identified a problem with the carburetor, prompting owner and promoter Ted White to take the part in question to an unbiased outside party for a second opinion. The second opinion confirmed that the carburetor did not meet Woodhull Raceway Crate Sportsman rule specifications.

Barron, who has scored two heat race wins in 2019 in her rookie season in the Crates, can now add a feature win. The driver of the Elmira Heat Treating, Howard Hanna Real Estate, Kelly’s Auto Sales No. 4 will start her Saturday night off this weekend with her first official Victory Lane interview, before heat races kick off Championship Night brought to you by Kibbe Oil & Gas Field Services.

Championship Night Presented Kibbe Oil and Gas Field Services

A season’s worth of blood, sweat, tempers and tears will culminate on Saturday night at Ted and Brandi White’s Woodhull Raceway.

All eight of Woodhull’s division champions will be crowned, with five championships already being locked up before entering Championship Night. The Street Stock, Mini Stock, Warriors, FWD, and Hobby Stock championships have already been decided and were clinched last weekend during Legends Night.

Headlining the excitement will be the Insinger Performance Modifieds, where Billy Van Pelt carries a small eleven-point lead in quest of his record 21st Woodhull track title. Just like 2018, the battle lies between Cory Costa and Van Pelt.

Costa was leading the points going into last Saturday’s event, but after getting turned around in turn four during last week’s feature allowed Van Pelt to gain eleven points and take the points lead. Though Costa lost the point lead, he will have a slight advantage in the handicap assuming he earns that spot by qualifying through the heat race. Eleven points is a large gap going into championship night but is possible.

The NAPA Crate Sportsman saw an epic battle early in the year between Kenny Peoples Jr. and Jake Dgien. People Jr. trailed Dgien for the earlier half of the year but after Dgien having a couple bad nights, Peoples Jr. was able to capitalize and pull ahead.

The Cummings Trucking RUSH Crate Late Models will also come down to the wire on Saturday night. Addison, NY shoe Jason Knowles leads Kurt Stebbins. Knowles came close to winning the championship last season but fell short. Knowles currently has a ten point lead over Stebbins. He’s got a small cushion but it could easily turn on him.

The Joe Willcox Performance Automatics Street Stocks have seen a battle all season between Kurt Stebbins and Brett Marlatt. Going into this Saturday, Stebbins has a 13 point lead over Marlatt. It would be hard for Marlatt to capitalize but anything can happen Saturday.

Jeredd Dennis (Hobby Stocks), Codie Baker (FWD), Brooke McClain (Warriors), and Jason Ketrow (Mini Stocks) just have to show up and race their races. They will then be crowned the 2019 Champion for their respective division.

Pits open on Saturday at 3:30PM, followed by a Driver Appreciation Pig Roast in the pits with pit passes carrying a $30 fee. General Admission gates swing open at 4:30PM and will be $12 for adults 13 and up and $6 for Seniors 62+ and Students 8-12. The weekly $1 off Early Bird Special will run from 4:30PM-5:30PM. Children 7 and under, camping and parking are always free at Woodhull Raceway.

Two Rivers Timber/Griffith Energy- Superior Plus sweeten Lyle Sherwood Memorial

Woodhull Raceway is also happy to announce that two local businesses have come together to sweeten the pot at the end of the rainbow for the 2019 Lyle Sherwood Memorial.

The race that was set to pay $1,717 to the winner, in memory of Sherwood’s famous No. 17, will now pay a cool $2,017-to-win and will also pay $200 just to take the green flag in the A-Main.

TRT and Griffith-Superior Plus have been longtime supporters of racing at Woodhull and will help memorialize one of Woodhull’s greats. Sherwood was a 2019 inductee into the Woodhull Raceway Hall of Fame, which concluded their inductions of the 2019 class on Saturday August 31.

Sherwood was joined in the 2019 class by Basil Shutt, Joe Tomes, Herbie Wright, Don Lawson Sr., Bob Johnson, Curt Van Pelt, Lyle Jackson, Jerry Symonds and Steve Hartman Sr. These ten names joined the 15 inductees from the inaugural class of the Woodhull Raceway Hall of Fame, inducted in 2018.