CRSA Sprints Invade New York State’s Capital District This Weekend

Story By: TOBY LAGRANGE / CRSA – FONDA, NY – The stars and cars of the 2019 SuperGen Products with Champion Power Equipment CRSA Sprint Car Series will return to where the series was created this weekend – New York’s Montgomery County.

Located in the western reaches of New York’s Capital District, the double header weekend will also be the second and third rounds of the Kennedy’s of Troy Northway/90 Mini-Series

The weekend kicks off on Saturday July 27th at the oldest track not only on the 2019 schedule but in the State of New York – the Fonda Speedway. The Track of Champions held its first race on August 22nd, 1914 and since has been hosting exciting action of all kinds. This weekend will be no exception as the CRSA Sprint Car Series makes its first appearance of the season.

One year ago three CRSA events were scheduled at the tricky half-mile. The first was rained out with the remaining two getting in. The June 30th event would see two-time Fonda Dirt Modified champion Jeff Trombley pick up the win over Thomas Radivoy, Sydney Prince, Dustin Purdy and Jerry Sehn. The second event was held on September 15th with former track Dirt Modified and Sportsman regular Josh Pieniazek picking up the win over Justin Mills, Trombley, Tyler Cartier and Dalton Herrick. In 2017 Brett Jaycox, Kyle Smith and Mother Nature were victorious.

Since the 2014 season, there have been eleven events held at the Fonda Speedway with seven different drivers gracing victory lane. Pieniazek owns the most wins since 2014 with three followed by Cory Sparks and Kyle Smith, who each have a pair of wins.

From the 105-year-old Fonda Speedway the series will drive about five minutes south into the hills of Fultonville and one of the newest tracks in the state – the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. The Ridge held its first stock car race in September of 2003. The track also served as the home track for the CRSA in the early years of the CRSA.

This will be the second and final visit of the season for the CRSA at Glen Ridge. In the first back on June 2nd, Cory Sparks picked up the win over Emily VanInwegen, Trombley, Brett Jaycox and Johnny Kolosek. The event was also the first event of the five race Kennedy’s of Troy Northway 90 Mini-Series.

In all 13 CRSA events have been held at the Fastest Quarter Mile on Dirt. Steve Lapine won the first race back on June 11th, 2006 and followed it up with two more wins to lead everyone on the all-time CRSA A-Main winners list at the track. Former regulars Jeremy Quick (both in 2006) and Danny Varin (2012 and 2014) each have two wins while Warren Alexson (2007), Jami Russel (2008), Darryl Ruggles (2014), Josh Pieniazek (2015), Billy VanInwegen (2016) and Sparks each have one win.

Heading into this weekend’s action Trombley holds the series points lead by 59 points over Alysha Bay. Darryl Ruggles is third (-60) with Mills fourth (-73) and Kolosek fifth (-77).