RPW Exclusive: Newport Nightmare Strikes Thursday Night At Atomic Speedway

Column By: ROBERT SYMONDS / RACE PRO WEEKLY – CHILLICOTHE, OH – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series invaded the Chillicothe Ohio facility of the Atomic Speedway Thursday evening for the makeup of the Buckeye Spring 50 that was originally scheduled for March 15th.

Qualifying fast time in Group A was Kyle Bronson with a 13.459, Jimmy Owens was 2nd with a 13.474, and local competitor RJ Conley was 3rd with a 13.491. In Group B, Josh Richards was quick with a 13.267, followed by Devin Moran with a 13.448, and Brandon Sheppard with a 13.491.

In their qualifying heats RJ Conley, Jimmy Owens, Josh Richards, and Devin Moran grabbed checkered flags. Colten Burdette and Shanon Buckingham were able to get B-Main wins and qualify into the 50 lap amain.

In the Buckeye Spring 50, it was all Jimmy Owens up front holding off the Rocket House Car driver of Brandon Sheppard. The Newport Nightmare held his own against the best of the best from Rocket Racing winning the 50 lap event. Superman Jonathan Davenport finished 3rd, Watertown’s Tim McCreadie finished 4th and Earl Pearson Jr rounded out the top 5.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series – Buckeye Spring 50 – April 11, 2019

Heat Races – Top 4 Qualify – 10 Laps

Heat 1: RJ Conley, Tyler Erb, Kyle Bronson, Frank Heckenast Jr, Stormy Scott, Freddie Carpenter, Ryan King, Derek Davis, Jackie Boggs,

Heat 2: Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, Steve Casebolt, Billy Moyer Jr, Rod Conley, Chris Garnes, Colten Burdette, Jason Brennan

Heat 3: Josh Richards, Brandon Sheppard, Earl Pearson Jr, Tyler Carpenter, Shanon Buckingham, Gregg Satterlee, Jonathan Henry, Kyle Thomas

Heat 4: Devin Moran, Jonathan Davenport, Hudson O’Neal, Tim McCreadie, Kody Evans, Jason Jameson, Todd Brennan, Colton Flinner

B-Main Races – Top 3 Qualify – 12 Laps

B-Main 1: Colten Burdette, Stormy Scott, Rod Conley, Jackie Boggs, Freddie Carpenter, Ryan King, Jason Brennan, Derek Davis, Chris Garnes

B-Main 2: Shanon Buckingham, Kody Evans, Jason Jameson, Jonathan Henry, Gregg Satterlee, Kyle Thomas, Todd Brennan, Colton Flinner

Buckeye Spring 50 (50 Laps): Jimmy Owens, Brandon Sheppard, Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Earl Pearson Jr, Devin Moran, Tyler Erb, Steve Casebolt, Hudson O’Neal, Colten Burdette, Shanon Buckingham, Don O’Neal, Frank Heckenast Jr, Stormy Scott, Jackie Boggs, Tyler Carpenter, Ryan King, Billy Moyer Jr, RJ Conley, Kyle Bronson, Jason Jameson, Rod Conley, Josh Richards, Kody Evans